#18 - How Much Is Too Much?

Interview: Trent McFarland - Legend: Tiffany Porter

In This Issue

  • Should The 4-Event Limit Go To 6?

  • Recent Results

  • Is Track Over Yet?

  • Legend: NCAA Champion & Olympian Tiffany Ofili Porter

  • Interview: Utica’s 2-time State 800 Champ, Trent McFarland

  • The Little Things At The End

How Much Is Too Much?

I don’t know when the 4-event limit started for high schoolers—that’s going to take some deep research. But I do remember hearing about the year it changed from a 4-event-per-meet limit to a 4-event-per-day limit. In 1959, Farmington’s Rex Cawley was the nation’s top high school athlete, and his powers were seemingly limitless. On a Saturday morning (5/9) at the Albion Invitational, he won the 120-yard highs in a wind-aided 13.6 (the national record was 13.9), the 180-yard lows in a meet record 19.3, and anchored the winning 4×2 (1:31.6). That same evening, he went to the Dick Waters Relays at Monroe and won the long jump at 21-6.5, tied for 3rd in the high jump and anchored the mile relay to 5th place.

Farmington’s Rex Cawley, the poster boy for the 6-event day.

Complaints followed. A sportswriter insisted that the state hold Cawley to the 4-event rule. But according to the story, the Farmington coach had spotted the loophole and pointed out that Cawley had stuck to the letter of the rule. The next year, the rule’s wording was clarified in case any other coaches got the idea to run multiple meets in a single day. Cawley, by the way, lived happily ever after, with a World Record and Olympic gold medal 5 years later in Tokyo.

Fast forward to now: In more than 40 years hanging around this sport, I have yet to hear anyone say they wish high schoolers could compete in more than 4 events per day. So I admit to being surprised by the National Federation policy change that will allow athletes to do up to 6 events per day if their state federation agrees (a recognition of the situation already in existence in some places).

Got some interesting discussion after I posted on Twitter about it. A sampling:

Richard Laninga: “My assumption is that some coaches just want to use their studs in more events. I really don’t think it is because teams have a hard time filling all of the events.”

Lateef Reed: “If the rule is adopted, I do not see it having the positive results as expected. If you compete in open 100, 200, 4x1, 4x2, 4x4, and LJ, kids’ legs are going to be rubber bands. It’s a selfish decision to overwork an athlete for points. I wouldn’t let a coach do that to my kid.”

Fairport Harding HS (Ohio): “I think a change would be a good idea if it allowed more field events and kept a restriction on running events. Maybe 5 or 6 events would be good as long as 2 or 3 are field events. It would be a good entry into the decathlon.”

Bill Callahan: “I think event limits help teams and athletes. Teams have incentive to develop more athletes. More kids get exposure to competition. And sadly coaches often over race stars.”

Shannon Morrow: “May help the ‘Small’ schools as getting enough runners for all the events has been a challenge going against the larger schools. Though, I tend to agree with another comment that the team Stars are going to be stretched.”

Paul Koutz: “I think four events helps protect the athletes from coaches. Yes, there are SOME athletes that could handle more, but some coaches are dumb enough and would just grind athletes up without thinking of the long term effects.”

Every coach I know will quickly say they do it all “for the kids.” Yet I have also run into many who actually seem to be more concerned with their trophy case than with the welfare of the individual athlete. The motto, “do it for the team” can have a dangerous, sharper edge. Given that, if Michigan went to a 6-event limit (something I don’t believe is in the works), I can see it being abused by greedy coaches and leading to bad outcomes for some of our better athletes. The potential harm far outweighs any benefits from such a rule change. Call me a big no on this prospect.

Recent HS/Alumni Results

Jerome Classic: On July 14 in Langley, British Columbia, Northville alum Gina McNamara ran a PR (and Maltese record) 4:12.64 for 1500. That makes her No. 12 ever among Michigan prep alumni. East Lansing/Motor City alum Taylor Manson was 2nd in the 400 there in 52.25. FULL RESULTS

Grand Haven Beach Vault: On July 14-15, some of our best vaulters appeared at this annual sun and sand event. The big story came from Kenzie Shell. Now living and training in Jonesboro, Arkansas, the former Port Huron vaulter came close to her PR from April (4.43/14-6.25) with her 4.42/14-6. [Watch Shell’s big vault.] In doing so, she topped Kirsten Leland (4.27/14-0).

Tryce Tokar won the boys 15-16 with a leap of 14-6. Raiden Kipfmiller took the girls at 11-6. Brooke Bowers (12-3) nearly pulled off the Elite HS Girls win, but her mark, same as the winner, got her 2nd on misses. The Elite Men’s vault went to MSU alum Trevor Stephenson at 18-0. FULL RESULTS

Motor City Classic: This age group meet at Oak Park on July 15 produced some good marks for the high school set. Anthony Buford won the long jump at 21-9. Kayenn Mabin took the highs in 14.54, and the 400H in 56.45. Nevaeh Burns (56.55) and Janae Coleman (56.79) dominated the 13-14 400. Burns also captured the 200 in 25.87, while Coleman took the 800 in 2:15.10. Kylee King won the 17-18 in 57.33. Lauren Bickerdt won the 15-16 400H in 63.69. Morgan Roundtree took the 17-18 in 60.75. FULL RESULTS

Courageous Games: On Sunday (7/16), Cass Tech hosted this one. Milena Chevallier high jumped a big 5-10. Abigail Russell threw the disc 138-10. Zoe Zeiser won the long jump at 17-0.5. Lindsey Johnson ran 25.16 and 58.48. Evan Watson won the boys 400 in 49.47. The highlight came in the 4×4, where 16Ways TC, all of them from Chippewa Valley, ran 3:16.73. FULL RESULTS

Gyulai Memorial: At this pro meet 7/18 in Hungary, Utica alum and Team USA member Freddie Crittenden ran 13.50 in the hurdles to tie for 6th. FULL RESULTS

Is Track Over Yet?

Nope. If you’re a high school track fan, it’s not yet time to switch over to cross country. We still have the Junior Olympic Nationals coming. The first is the USATF version, in Eugene, July 24-30. Then comes the bigger (for Michigan athletes, at least) AAU version in Des Moines, July 29-August 5.

But before either of those, don’t forget the German U20 Nationals. That’s where Ottawa Hills Star Benne Anderson will be running the 3000. The Syracuse-bound Anderson has dual US-German citizenship and is listed as the top seed in the 3000 on Saturday. (And side note: this is probably the first time that Shepherd HS has been listed as a qualification site for the German nationals!)

Legend: NCAA Champion & Olympian Tiffany Ofili Porter

Dreams become real when you work hard enough at it. When she retired, Tiffany (Ofili) Porter recalled her first encounters with the sport at elementary school field days: “I would race (and beat) all the other boys and girls my age, and then be rewarded with ice cream after. That’s when I learned that I had a deep love for competing and the adrenaline rush was addictive.”

Coached by Tom Micallef and Chris Jonik at Ypsilanti High, Tiffany Ofili won the 300H in a meet record 44.04 in her first D2 finals as a 9th grader, after taking second in the 100H. As a junior she led Ypsilanti to the team title, ending a 7-year Renaissance streak, by winning both hurdles and placing 2nd in the 100. In 2005, her senior year, she won three events in meet records (14.19, 42.82, 18-9.25) but was 2nd in the 100 with her 12.50. She graduated with 6 individual state titles, plus one on a relay.

At Michigan, Ofili met with just as much success under the tutelage of James Henry and Arnett Chisholm. She won three-straight NCAA hurdle crowns (2007-2009). She also won NCAA Indoor titles in 2008-9. Along the way she also captured 9 Big 10 titles. She wasn’t just about sports, though. She earned her Ph.D. in pharmacology in 2012.

In 2010, Ofili made the decision to represent Great Britain internationally. She told a British journalist, “I knew I was going to perform no matter what vest I had on. I have always regarded myself as British, American and Nigerian. I'm all three.” She weathered some criticism after the change but persevered and continued to train and race as a pro. In 2011, she married fellow Wolverine alum Jeff Porter, who himself would become a 2-time Olympian for the United States. She competed with a hyphenated last name for a while, and then as Tiffany Porter.

In her long career as a professional, she earned great honors in the sport’s toughest competitions. In 2011, a silver in the European Indoor Champs, and 4th in the World Outdoors. In 2012, she won silver at the World Indoor and in her first Olympics, she made the semis of the 100 hurdles. In 2013, she captured bronze at the World Outdoors with her 12.55. In 2014, she won bronze at the World Indoors and outdoors she won European gold. She closed the season with a 12.51, which would be the fastest time of her career.

In the 2015 campaign she would finish 5th in the World Championships in Beijing. The next year she won another World Indoor bronze and in her second Olympics, she placed 7th in the final. In 2017, she made it to the World Championships but did not get past the heats. In 2021, as a mother of a toddler, she won Euro Indoor bronze, and made it to her third Olympic Games, where she placed 5th in the semis. In all, she won 7 British national titles. Six seasons she was ranked among the world’s top 10 by Track & Field News. Her sister, Cindy Sember, an Ann Arbor Huron grad, is still racing professionally and has competed in two Olympics so far.

In a 2012 interview with The Guardian, Porter recalled watching the Olympics with her father as a young girl. “I remember watching it on TV and turning to my father and saying: 'Dad, I want to run in the Olympics one day.'

"He looked at me, very seriously, and said: 'Tiffany, you know what? If you continue to work hard then, one day, you will.' That moment sticks out in my mind. It just resonates with me. I was lucky that, from such an early age, my family believed in me. And I had the determination to do it."

Interview: Trent McFarland, Utica’s 2-Time 800 Champ

In the past 50 years, only 6 boys have defended the Class A/D1 800 title at the state level. The latest is McFarland, who won in ‘23 as he did in ‘22, with a devastating kick. This year the Michigan signee went out in 56.4 and covered the last half in 54.2. His 1:50.68 PR makes him the No. 11 two-lapper in state history. He also racked up some solid times at other distances: 50.16, 4:16.74, and 9:14.76. This after a XC season where he placed 5th in D1 for coach Megan Berry’s Chieftains. He talked with us about his senior year, his historic state final race, and what he is working for in the future.

Trent McFarland, left, positioning to make his bid for the lead in the D1 finals. (Megan Berry’s Facebook, with permission)

Michtrack: Not a whole lot of guys have defended that 800m title. Was that your prime goal going into the season?

McFarland: Actually no. Me and my coach, we have a very good relationship. She knows where my head is at a lot of the time. But coming into this outdoor season, especially with how I did indoors in a mile at Indoor State, I was really torn between the mile and the 800. Cause even though I was defending Champ in the 800, I wanted to prove that I could run another event. Like I wasn't just an 800 guy. So, going into the season, I really wanted to be a more versatile and a more widely ranged athlete. I even ran the 400 a couple times, but I wanted to primarily run the 800 and the mile, the two mile, and be really strong in all three of those. So that was mainly my goal.

Michtrack: Approaching the state finals, were you hoping to maybe double?

McFarland: No, but leading up to the state meet was where we really started training for the eight; I made my mind up what I wanted to run at State. And it was just a focus on the eight, but throughout the season I was really training for those other distances, trying to get my time down and trying to become more versatile. But the week leading up to states was where I really started locking in my focus on the 800 and really training for that.

Michtrack: What drew you to the 800 this second time around?

McFarland: I don't know. I came at it the same way [as 2022]. I think training was very similar. I did the same workouts as last year, but last year I focused on the 800 the whole year. And this year just that week before I did a really good 600-500 workout at max effort, and that really helped me hone in on what I’d be capable of running at State. I honestly thought the race would be faster than it was. We went out slower than we did last year. It panned out well for me, but I think I still had more in the tank, especially because I started training for the 800 so late. Me and my coach did that or decided to do that because I was really pumped about doing competing at the national level. After states, I don't know, it kind of slipped my mind and I shifted my focus more towards the future and so I decided to opt out of doing nationals then started training for cross country.

Michtrack: Watching that D1 Finals race,  it looked like you let everyone else take their shot before you even took yours. Total patience out there. Was that your mindset? [Watch the race again]

McFarland: Last year I had the fastest seed time, but I don't think people expected me to win. I didn't have the fastest time all year. I have a really good way of--in the race--understanding my surroundings and really knowing what I have to do to put myself in the best position to succeed. So as I did last year, I sat in more of like a 5th -6th place spot until like 300 to go this year. I knew there would be more guys gunning for that top spot. And I knew [Brendan] Herger was going to lead the whole race. I knew how all of them raced. I did my research. I knew how the race was going to pan out. So, I stayed patient. I stayed consistent with my form. I just waited for the right moment. I think I went earlier than I needed to this year. But I saw Parker Orlowsky, honestly, he surprised me a lot. I didn't expect him to finish as well as he did, but I knew he was a strong runner. So when I saw him go, I knew I had to make my move or it'd be too late. He really started the initiative for me to make my move. But yeah, I just stayed patient and used that last 200 meters. I feel like I have the strongest last 200 out of anybody in the state.

Michtrack: Any regrets about not trying outdoor nationals?

McFarland: Yeah, especially after seeing the times. At U20s, 1:52 qualified for the final. I think I could have been very competitive in the field. I think if I had gone for a time goal at State, I think I could have gone 1:48.9 and competed for that Donavan Brazier state meet record. But it was more of a bigger goal for me just to win. I definitely think I regret not going to Nationals. I went to New Balance Nationals Indoor and competed in the eight, but I wasn't really trained for that. It didn't pan out how I wanted it to. That was kind of what caused me to second guess my decision to go to nationals outdoor. But no, I definitely regret it, especially how my outdoor track season ended with that 1:50. I wish I could have broken that.

Michtrack: Looking forward to your Wolverine experience, has Coach Sullivan given you much of an idea where he wants you in the future? Are you pure 800 or is he going let you go up to the 1500 and beyond?

McFarland: I did ask him. He said that he was going to start me off at the eight. I think I'm the strongest 800 recruit we have coming in this year. I do think that personally I have a chance to place at Big Tens in the 800. I think that I have a lot more left in me and when I get in into that college training, I really think I'll just hit the ground running and I think I'll go 1:48 if not faster. So I definitely think that I'll be lethal at the eight with this cross country mileage. I do think I'll be running cross country and this higher mileage will get me a better base for that 1500 and maybe even the mile in track, so we'll see.

Michtrack: Where would you like to eventually push this running thing of yours?

McFarland: I would like to go pro. I think that's everyone's goal, but I've already started to make some goals for even my senior year in college. I want to be under that 1:45 mark in the eight. I want to be a sub-4 miler. I want to get all those goals that most college guys have. I think that I can do it.

Michtrack: What initially turned you onto the sport of running?

McFarland: I was a big baseball guy and going into middle school, you have to pick baseball or track in the spring for spring sports. I chose track to try out a new sport because I picked baseball my whole life before that. I was good in middle school. I wasn't setting records by any means. But I never lost. I ran the 3200 primarily in seventh and eighth grade. So our high school coach, Coach Berry, she came out to one of the last meets and she talked to me and she was like, ‘I want you to come out for cross country starting ninth grade’ and she required summer training and all that stuff to get ready. I don't know, it was kind of shocking to me. I wasn't ready for it, so I kind of blew her off and I didn't take that initiative and take that first step. So the first couple weeks I was like, “Oh, I don't really wanna do this.” It actually took one of her former runners, Carson Nicoletti, who's at Wayne State right now. He had all the records at Utica for a while and he really took the initiative to come out and he talked to me, he knew my mom through his mom who was my mom's hairstylist, so that was really how we got connected. And he told me to come out to practice one day, and then I came out and I just loved it. The guys on the team, they're awesome to be around. It was a great environment and I loved it.

Trent McFarland’s Advice To Others Interested In The 800

I won't lie to you, it's hard. In my opinion, the 800 is the most challenging event in high school track, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't give it a try. The 800 requires a certain level of drive, determination, and grit that shows how strong and tough a runner is. You need to be confident, not egotistical, but believe in yourself. Trust yourself. Like any race, the winner isn't determined in the first 200, the first 400, or even the first 600. All that matters is coming across that line before anyone else... I would like to see the 800 become a more popular event seeing as only the strongest and most mentally tough athletes compete in the event. Don't back down from anyone, even people who doubt your ability...one race can change everything.

The Little Things At The End

Track on the rise: The MHSAA reports that girls track participation in Michigan rose 5.6% in the 1922-23 season, making it one of the fastest-growing sports. Boys participation grew by 4.9%. Girls track, in overall numbers (16,470), is ranked No. 2 in terms, with volleyball (19,270) taking the top spot. For the boys, track & field (23,208) is second only to football (37,855) in total numbers. Link

A final word: I know we said we were done with the team state debate for a while, but Jim Chapman sent along this bit where he scored the state finals adapting a 16-deep format as is done in swimming:

“The top 10 teams from 10th to 1st (MHSAA Final place in noted) were:

  • 10th: Kalamazoo Central (MHSAA 7th)

  • 9th: AA Huron (MHSAA 4th)

  • 8th: Oak Park (MHSAA 15th - see note below)

  • 7th: Northville (MHSAA 8th)

  • 6th: Saline (MHSAA 10th)

  • 5th: Uof D Jesuit (MHSAA 5th)

  • 4th: Rochester Adams (6th)

  • 3rd: St. Joseph (MHSAA Champions)

  • 2nd: Chippewa Valley (MHSAA 2nd)

  • 1st: Rockford (MHSAA 3rd)

“What is the difference between winning the title and finishing 3rd? Rockford would have scored points across 10 different events using 16 place scoring. St. Joseph would have only scored 7 events. Rockford's relays would have scored points in 3 of the 4 relays (which require a team of athletes to be successful in), while St. Joseph scored in only 2 relays. The difference between the two teams would actually be substantial. Rockford would have beaten 2nd place Chip Valley by 29.5 points and 3rd place St. Joseph by 30.75 points.”

And another: I got an actual letter through the US Mail (they still have that!) from past MITCA president Jerry Myszkowski, who guided a quality program at Detroit U-D Jesuit for 20 years (1974-94). He writes, in part, “Your latest discussion… rekindled my thought process as to how this MITCA meet could/should be totally renovated. My biggest complaint is that ALL entrants in an event score points. I have had various officials state that athletes enter never having hurdled before but enter to score points. This is not only dangerous but also makes the event as well as the meet a farce. A time of 21.01 at D1 state meet for the boys’ high hurdles scores points? 3200 times of 12:39 place? I could continue but you get my point.”

Please Please Please! Boxes of old results sitting around? Contact us for a rescue. They belong online as part of the Michtrack Results Archive.

Another country to keep track of: From the grapevine comes news that Huron grad Mya Georgiadis, who ran 57.74 for 400H in her frosh season at Vanderbilt, will be competing for Greece next season.

Are You In The Michtrack Cool Kids Club? To get in, you need to be a monthly supporter (no matter how modest) of this non-profit effort here. Sign up here and help support the cause of saving Michigan’s TF/XC history!

Are you getting this newsletter direct to your email box? If not, sign up here. It’s free, except when I’m guilting you to donate. You’ll also find links to all of our back issues here.

Join the conversation

or to participate.